Ringing in My 2016 Writing Goals

Just like that it’s a new year. Every year I’m flabbergasted at how quickly 365 days fly by. The holidays are officially over and now I look forward to at least two months of writing 2015 instead of 2016, a pesky problem I’ve faced since grade school.

Now is the time to make and stick to New Year’s resolutions. In my eyes, New Year’s resolutions are highly similar to New Year’s Eve plans—overly hyped up with only meh results. I tend to commit to a resolution for a few weeks before it slowly fades from my mind.

That’s not to say I have commitment issues. I’m a very committed person. But usually my resolutions tend to be less meaningful because of their obligatory nature. So I’ve instead set myself some writing goals for the next 12 months.

I’m hoping that publishing them on my blog will set them more in stone than keeping them private. So here goes!

  1. Write at least one new picture book manuscript per month. Because it’s important to expand my collection. Guess who will be joining the 12 x 12 Challenge?
  2. Revise at least one picture book manuscript per month. Beacuse it’s important to make sure my expansive collection isn’t filled with crappy first drafts.
  3. Submit, submit, submit. Because that’s how I get feedback from industry experts and get an agent.
  4. Get an agent. Because that’s how I get published.
  5. Revise my novel at least once. Because I want to prove to myself that I can craft a cohesive and intriguing work of middle grade fiction. And also because I’d like to determine if the manuscript is worth submitting someday.
  6. Attend conferences. Because that’s how I can network with peers and professionals, as well as learn the hot-diggity of the industry.

There you have it, folks! Those are my goals for 2016. They seem simple, right? I’m confident that I can achieve all of these if I commit ample time to my passion.

We’ll see what 2015,  I mean 2016, holds for me!

Leave a Reply

