Transfiguring My Novel

Finishing my first novel was surreal. It had been a dream of mine for a long time and I finally mustered up the guts to do it. Thanks to the NaNoWriMo community, I pushed through and finished a 50,000-word middle grade novel on November 30th. Cue the celebratory Wildfire Whiz-bangs.

3kpud0iuprqsy

The feeling of accomplishment lasted for a solid three months. I focused back on writing and revising my picture books, yipping and yahooing myself for starting and completing a longer work. A few weeks ago, after I submitted my best PB yet to various agents, I thought, onto the next middle grade book.

And no, I hadn’t forgotten about the first manuscript. Truthfully, I wanted to block out the next step: revising. It was the Basilisk of my bedroom closet. If I didn’t look at the binder it rested in, I wouldn’t be petrified by the chaos inside. After all, it’s my first novel. Let’s rephrase that. The first draft of my first novel. So, in other words, a wild and unshapely thing.

The_monster_book_of_Monsters_Harry_Potter_and_the_prisoner_of_azkaban

Avoidance seemed better than dealing with a manuscript that needed a massive overhaul. And one that will likely never sell because it’s about talking animals. Yes, talking animals. And yes, I knew when I began NaNoWriMo that no editor wants anthropomorphism in MG.

So as I excitedly began plotting out my next MG novel (with no talking animals), I had to pump the breaks. Time to break out the Veritaserum and be honest with myself.

Honestly, there’s plenty of MG novels with well-written anthropomorphism that have done well. But more importantly, I need to follow through. This is my first novel, and I need to finish it from first draft to a more polished manuscript, even if it never goes anywhere. I need to go through those novelist motions of writing and revising. I need to make the magic of revising happen.

My story meant enough to me to agonize over it for a month. I owe it to myself to sift through the pile to see the shapes hidden underneath. If after shoveling it still looks lumpy and sunken, then I’ll put it away. I do it all the time with PB manuscripts that just don’t sparkle like I expected. But being a first-time novelist and an insufferable overachiever, I’ve solemnly sworn to myself to work my magic on this manuscript.

After reading the story, taking notes, and making a list of edits (which includes Evanescoing away half the words), I’m doing it. I’ve already transfigured the first few chapters into something more readable and recognizable.

Hermione would be proud.

ouwzqe4zok5bm

 

4 thoughts on “Transfiguring My Novel

  1. I’m so glad for you! I have written a middle grade novel, but as soon as I realized how sad and sorry it was I tucked it away in the darkest drawer. It’s been years, and I have learned a lot about writing since then, so maybe I should dig it out and see what magic I can perform 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love all the HP references!
    Congrats on completing your first novel! My first novel is still in the editing stages. I don’t think it’ll ever see the light of day, but I continue to work with it because you never know what may happen. Plus it’s good editing practice. I’m on the fifth draft for it.
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

