Rejection: So You’re Telling Me There’s a Chance

Last week I couldn’t bring myself to write. This week I’m making up for it with revisions galore. I knew I wouldn’t be out of the game long. But I’ve got an extra spring in my pen.

A couple days ago I got some serious feedback from an agent on a story. And by serious, I don’t mean an offer. I mean constructive feedback. A lot of it. Some of it was hard to read, but I agreed with many of the comments.

Solid critiques always knock me down a few steps. I love that.

As a writer, you work at a piece for a while. You have others critique it. You revise it. Critique, revise. Critique, revise. Then you’re happy enough with it. Heck, you may even think it’s good.

jlt69ka6swth2

So you send it to agents and/or editors hungry for the next best thing. You might not be that, but you think you’ve written a damn good manuscript. Who WOULDN’T love it, right?

BOOM. Rejections galore. Both silent and written. That cozy little perch of yours is swiftly pulled out from under your eager writer feet.

z5znlzalfbfja

Rejections are hard and, at times, heartbreaking. It’s not personal, but when you spend long nights with your stories, you can’t help but feel the person on the other side of the computer has stabbed your hands with red pen.

But honestly, rejections mean you’re getting somewhere. To me, they signal that I’m getting closer to my goal of being a published author.

tomjgpknigqrnlgbrhu

Even if I receive negative feedback, someone saw enough potential to want to help me improve. Though their kind words form a “no,” I read “try again.”

And so I will.

3 thoughts on “Rejection: So You’re Telling Me There’s a Chance

  1. Rejections are a fact of life I suppose, though that doesn’t mean I am an emotional adult when I get them. My first reaction is to turn into an emotional 7 year old. Disbelief that anything I worked so hard on has any problems at-all. So I go through the 4 stages of rejection grief. 1 – Maybe they read someone else’s piece and they think it was mine. Simple mistake to make. I’m big enough to forgive them… 2- they obviously don’t know ANYTHING about good writing. Or stories. I bet they would have rejected Hemingway because his sentences were too short….3 – OK…OK. They made some good points. Maybe they aren’t really asking for THAT much…4- They’re right. It sucks! I’m so bad! Why do I even try!? I’ll never write again… And finally acceptance. I have to make it better. Back to work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Props on the dumb and dumber gifs love that film.
    As for rejection, yep, just have to keep going. Getting a critique rejection is nice, never had one of those, usually its the generic ones they send to everyone. Silence is even worse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

