Celebrations and Inspirations

It feels good to be back on the blog! The past five weeks have been busy to say the least. Not only have I been settling into my new digs and working on a massive project at work, I’ve also been writing my second middle grade novel. And after spending hundreds of hours clacking away on my laptop with film scores buzzing in my ears (I can’t listen to music with words when I write), I’VE FINALLY FINISHED THE DRAFT.

Where’s the champagne?

I’ve still got a long way to go with revising and fine-tuning, but first drafts are my least favorite. Ever. So this is yuuuge.

But what I really want to talk about in this post is the SCBWI Summer Conference I attended in Los Angeles. That is what spurred my writing sprint, after all. Like every SCBWI event I’ve attended, I came home feeling energized, inspired, and ready to fill a Word document with a novel.

This year, I went all out. I attended the Monday craft intensives (which were amazing!) and sat down with an industry professional for a 20-minute manuscript consultation (equally amazing!). The conference was four days of sponging up any and all information. And I was one happy, full sponge by the end.

So, I figured I’d share with you a few of my favorite quotes from the conference. Sharing is caring and when inspiration is slim pickings, words of wisdom from those who have succeeded can go a long way.

Drew Daywalt on voice:

“Every story has been told, but it hasn’t been told in your own voice.”

Pam Munoz Ryan on persistence:

“Allow yourself to fall down and stand back up again.”

“For me momentum is far more important than inspiration.”

Marie Lu on self-doubt:

“When I get down on myself, I remind myself that I’m not good enough…yet.

Stacey Barney on voice:

“Writers should pick a word that describes their voice and paste it to the top of their computers to make sure it’s on every page.”

Richard Peck on remembering the reader:

“Readers are looking for themselves in our pages.”

4 thoughts on “Celebrations and Inspirations

  1. Ah! I love quotes and, of course, writing, so a post with writing quotes is pretty much the best ☺️ I think my favorites are the last two. So poignant and insightful. All the quotes also help remind me to write a story I would want to read and not a story that I think an agent or editor somewhere would want to read.
    And a huge congrats on your writing accomplishments! So excited for you! I will drink in your honor 😜🎉

    Like

Leave a Reply

